Home > Uncategorized > GOOD ADVICE: “Don’t wish your life away”!

GOOD ADVICE: “Don’t wish your life away”!

I was having a conversation with my daughter-in-law, who has a 3 year old and an almost 3 month old, when she said that she was “over this newborn stuff”.

Although I didn’t say anything to her, it reminded me of my mother telling me not to “wish my children older”. That I should enjoy the stages as they grew as much as possible or I would be sorry later since it goes by much too quickly and you can’t get it back.

She was right.

It is the same as the other moments in life and in business with the advice to stop thinking “I’ll be happy when…” such as:

“when we get that next contract,” or

“when we buy that new building,” or

“when business turns around”

Because, what usually happens when that “when” finally takes place?

We replace it with a new “when.”

My husband said to me last Friday, “It seems as if it was just Friday where does the time go?”

In reflecting on how quickly time passes I’m going to try and take this advice and work harder to enjoy life, family, friends, work, and the moment I’m in.

Categories: Uncategorized
  1. Anonymous
    May 13, 2013 at 3:43 PM

    Only too true! Thanks for the reminder. We can never recover those precious
    moments once we let them pass us by.

    • andreamcafee
      May 16, 2013 at 7:15 AM

      Thanks for the comment. You are so right!

  2. Anonymous
    May 15, 2013 at 4:54 PM

    My Grandma uses to say life is like a roll of toilet paper. The nearer the end, the faster it goes. Your advise is really good and a great reminder for all of us. Thanks, Andrea!

    • andreamcafee
      May 16, 2013 at 7:16 AM

      Your Grandma was a wise woman. That’s a perfect analogy!!!

  1. No trackbacks yet.

Leave a Reply

